Burra Hockey Club Wind-Up 2016


The Burra Hockey Club celebrated a successful 2016 season at Kelly Devine & Rob Benson’s home on Sunday.  This season the Burra U14s team made it to the Grand Final, succumbing to a season strong Springstown side in the end.  It was an excellent experience for the team, who are aiming to make it one better in 2017.

The season has seen a busy year for many players including U13 Country Championships (Harrison, Lucas, Jasper, Amber and Opal), SAPSASA State Carnival (Harrison, Jasper & Amber) plus many other regional carnivals and training days that most if not all of Burra’s players participated in in one way or another.  This season has also seen 2 Burra players; Harrison Williams and Jasper Weatherstone, being invited to undertake HockeySA’s Development Athlete Program over the summer.  This will include an induction training day at the State Hockey Centre in October, followed by 19 intense training sessions at Port Pirie from November until March 2017.  A brilliant opportunity for the boys.

Paul Williams was ably assisted at training on Thursday nights by Peter Cochrane and the kids (and Paul) really valued Peter’s knowledge and skills that he was able to pass on to the kids.  The Hockey Club’s renovated canteen van saw the best canteen in the association this year, with many delicious goodies being sold at each home game.  Kelly Devine and her team of volunteers did a fantastic job ensuring everyone was fed and watered.

Thank-you to our Sponsors for 2016:  Water’s Burra Bakery,  Burra Chemmart Chemist, Cooper’s Butchers, Burra Hotel, Burra Motor Co (BP), Booborowie IGA, Parky’s Hardware, Annie’s Handmade Goats Milk Soaps.

We are already looking forward to the 2017 season with a Training Day to be held in April – all new players welcome!


Trophy Winners 2016:

U14 Best & Fairest (Umpire Vote): Lucas Williams

U14 R/Up Best & Fairest (Umpire Vote): Jasper Weatherstone

Spectator Vote Best & Fairest: Jasper Weatherstone

Spectator R/Up Best & Fairest (joint): Harrison Williams

Spectator R/Up Best & Fairest (joint): Lucas Williams

Coaches Award: Amber Prince

Highest Goal Scorer: Jed Devine (8)

Kevin & Valda Williams Memorial Trophy for Service to the Club: Mark Prince

First Year Medals: Anton Thompson, Gemma Peart, Matilda Wadsworth


Trophy Winners -

Trophy Winners – Mark Prince, Jasper Weatherstone, Lucas Williams, Jed Devine, Amber Prince & Harrison Williams.


First year players -

First year players – Anton Thompson, Gemma Peart & Matilda Wadsworth.



Winners are grinners!


About Michelle